NEW AT PACKEX: Advent calendar to fill yourself. Completely customisable and even personalisable. Request now!

Illustrated example of a folding box from PackEx.
9 November 2019
Reading time: 4 minutes
0 comments

Resource-conscious procurement of folding boxes with the PackEx virtual warehouse

Worms, 8 May 2019 - As raw materials become scarcer, manufacturing companies have to save resources. This makes an important contribution to environmental protection. With the virtual warehouse, PackEx adapts the product portfolio to these challenges. This is because customers can configure their products digitally and obtain them quickly at any time. This demand-oriented procurement avoids overproduction and lowers overall costs. With full utilisation of production capacity, this results inCO2 savings of up to 1,389 tonnes. At the same time, the flexible manufacturing process leads to the avoidance of overproduction and thus to 1,500 tonnes less waste per year.

Thanks to the virtual warehouse, customers are able to configure their desired products in the PackEx portal and save them there. This means that they can call up their saved and virtually stored folding boxes at any time with one click and convert them into an order. Thanks to the virtual warehouse, storage costs are eliminated completely in the best case. In addition, customers can react flexibly to new packaging designs, market tests or sudden fluctuations in demand. If there are changes in the design or the imprint, PackEx customers no longer have to destroy boxes that have already been produced and stored. One click in the virtual warehouse is all it takes to make the necessary adjustments without much effort. The easy-to-handle yet highly efficient packaging-on-demand and the holistic overall concept make this agility possible. Not least through the bundled processing of various customer orders and the use of innovative manufacturing technologies.

Saving resources protects our environment

With our unique overall digital concept, short runs of folding cartons can be produced much more resource-efficiently than with conventional processes. This is what makes packaging-on-demand possible in the first place. The use of raw materials can be reduced by around 87 per cent on average. During production, this includes the optimal processing of print jobs on collated sheets, the reduction of waste and start-up waste through optimised printing processes, varnish savings and the elimination of die-cutting tools, since lasers are used in the completely digitalised PackEx workflow. The environmental balance sheet with full utilisation of production capacity shows:CO2 savings of up to 1,389 tonnes and up to 1,500 tonnes less waste per year.

Packsize matters

We also place great emphasis on resource-conscious handling when packing and delivering our folding boxes. We always ship in customised packaging. In this way, we not only make optimal use of transport volumes, we also avoid weight and can transport considerably more goods at the same time. By using individual outer cartons instead of the usual delivery by forwarding agent and Euro pallet, transport by parcel service is possible - and this ensures a considerableCO2 saving. The high environmental impact of conventional transport of short runs is mainly due to the size and weight of the Euro pallets. That is why PackEx does not use them at all.

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety Promotes innovative idea

The groundbreaking idea of offering quick delivery of folding boxes in short runs at the click of a mouse on the basis of a virtual warehouse in the PackEx portal is worthy of inclusion in the environmental innovation programme of the BMU (Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety). The ministry is funding the digital business idea with around 1.6 million euros. This is the first time that the large-scale application of an innovative technology has been honoured. We are convinced that the PackEx business model will fundamentally change the market and make it more flexible. We are not only raising the state of the art to a new level, but are also demonstrating with our digital strategy that high-tech does not contradict environmental protection and the prudent use of limited resources.

0 comments

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published.

We use cookies to make your visit to our website even more attractive. Cookies allow us to improve the comfort and quality of the services provided on the website. Learn more...

Illustriertes Beispiel einer Faltschachtel von PackEx.
9. November 2019
Lesedauer: 3 Minuten
0 Kommentare

Ressourcenbewusste Beschaffung von Faltschachteln mit dem virtuellen Lager von PackEx

Worms, 8. Mai 2019 – Durch knapper werdende Rohstoffe müssen produzierende Unternehmen Ressourcen einsparen. Damit leisten wir einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Umweltschutz. Mit dem virtuellen Lager passt PackEx das Produktportfolio an diese Herausforderungen an. Denn so können Kunden ihre Produkte digital konfigurieren und sie jederzeit schnell beziehen. Diese bedarfsorientierte Beschaffung vermeidet Überproduktionen und senkt die Gesamtkosten. Bei voller Auslastung der Produktionskapazität ergeben sich dadurch CO2-Einsparungen in Höhe von bis zu 1.389 Tonnen. Gleichzeitig führt der flexible Fertigungsprozess zur Vermeidung von Überproduktionen und damit zu 1.500 Tonnen weniger Abfall im Jahr.

Dank des virtuellen Lagers sind Kunden in der Lage, ihre Wunschprodukte in der PackEx B2B App zu konfigurieren und diese dort abzuspeichern. So haben sie jederzeit die Möglichkeit, mit einem Klick ihre gespeicherten und virtuell gelagerten Faltschachteln aufzurufen und in eine Bestellung umzuwandeln. Dank dem virtuellen Lager entfallen die Lagerkosten im besten Fall komplett. Darüber hinaus können die Kunden flexibel auf neue Verpackungsdesigns, Markttests oder plötzliche Nachfrageschwankungen reagieren. Ergeben sich Änderungen im Design oder am Aufdruck, müssen PackEx Kunden keine bereits produzierten und gelagerten Schachteln mehr vernichten. Ein Klick in das virtuelle Lager genügt und entsprechende Anpassungen lassen sich ohne großen Aufwand vornehmen. Das einfach handhabbare und zugleich hocheffiziente Packaging-on-demand sowie das holistische Gesamtkonzept ermöglichen diese Agilität. Nicht zuletzt durch die gebündelte Verarbeitung verschiedener Kundenaufträge und den Einsatz von innovativen Fertigungstechnologien.

Ressourcen zu sparen, schont unsere Umwelt

Mit unserem einzigartigen digitalen Gesamtkonzept lassen sich kleine Auflagen von Faltschachteln erheblich ressourceneffizienter als mit herkömmlichen Verfahren produzieren. Das macht Packaging-on-demand erst möglich. So kann der Rohmaterialeinsatz im Durchschnitt um rund 87 Prozent gesenkt werden. Dazu gehören während der Produktion die optimale Verarbeitung von Druckaufträgen auf Sammelbögen, die Reduktion von Verschnitt sowie Anlaufmakulatur durch optimierte Druckprozesse, Lackeinsparungen und der Wegfall von Stanzwerkzeugen, da im komplett digitalisierten PackEx Workflow Laser zum Einsatz kommen. Die Umwelt-Bilanz bei voller Auslastung der Produktionskapazitäten ergibt: CO2-Einsparungen in Höhe von bis zu 1.389 Tonnen und bis zu 1.500 Tonnen weniger Abfall im Jahr.

Packsize matters

Auch beim Packen und Ausliefern unserer Faltschachteln schreiben wir ressourcenbewussten Umgang groß. Wir versenden grundsätzlich in maßgeschneiderten Verpackungen. Damit nutzen wir nicht nur Transportvolumen optimal aus, wir vermeiden dadurch auch Gewicht und können erheblich mehr Ware zur selben Zeit transportieren. Denn durch die Verwendung individueller Umkartons anstelle der üblichen Auslieferung per Spedition und Europalette ist ein Transport per Paketdienst möglich – und dieser sorgt für eine erhebliche CO2-Einsparung. Die hohe Umweltbelastung beim herkömmlichen Transport von Kleinauflagen entsteht vor allem durch die Größe und das Gewicht der Europaletten. Deshalb verzichtet PackEx komplett darauf.

Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit fördert innovative Idee

Die bahnbrechende Idee, auf der Basis eines virtuellen Lagers in der PackEx B2B App per Mausklick eine schnelle Lieferung von Faltschachteln in Kleinauflagen zu bieten, ist dem BMU (Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit) die Aufnahme in das Umweltinnovationsprogramm wert. Das Ministerium fördert die digitale Geschäftsidee mit rund 1,6 Mio. Euro. Damit wird erstmalig die großtechnische Anwendung eine innovativen Technologie honoriert. Wir sind überzeugt, das PackEx Geschäftsmodell wird den Markt grundlegend verändern und flexibilisieren. Wir heben nicht nur den Stand der Technik auf ein neues Niveau, sondern demonstrieren mit unserer Digitalstrategie auch, dass High-Tech nicht im Widerspruch zu Umweltschutz und einem umsichtigen Umgang mit begrenzt verfügbaren Ressourcen steht.

0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Wir setzen Cookies ein, um Ihren Besuch auf unserer Website noch attraktiver zu gestalten. Mit Hilfe von Cookies können wir den Komfort und die Qualität der auf der Website bereitgestellten Dienstleistungen verbessern. Mehr erfahren…